Dallas Education Foundation Announces 2024-2025 Heart of Teaching Grant Recipients

Our 2023 Heart of Teaching Grant Recipients

DALLAS, TX – The Dallas Education Foundation is excited to announce the recipients of the 2024-2025 Heart of Teaching Grants. The awards will be presented during a media event on May 30, 2024, from 10:00 to 11:00 am in the lobby of the Dallas ISD Central Office building at 9400 North Central Expressway, with all grant recipients in attendance.

The Heart of Teaching Grant supports innovative teaching practices and impactful educational projects within the Dallas Independent School District. This year’s grant recipients were selected by a dedicated committee for their exceptional proposals to advance equity through innovation in special education. 

Grant applications focused on enabling and driving student success with projects that help boost morale, motivation, belonging, and a sense of accomplishment for students with special needs and their peers.

Event Details:

• Date: May 30, 2024
• Time: 10:00 – 11:00 am
• Location: Lobby, Dallas ISD Central Office, 9400 North Central Expressway, Dallas, TX


• Welcome and Introduction by the Dallas Education Foundation
• Presentation of Awards to Grant Recipients
• Remarks by Grant Recipients and Committee Members
• Photo Opportunities and Media Q&A

List of Awardees:

1. Katybeth Hagler – Leila P. Cowart Elementary School
2. Faith Henderson – Leila P. Cowart Elementary School
3. Esther Reisman – Hospital Homebound
4. Kyle Clarke – J.L. Long Middle School
5. Chantrelle Lovett-Andrews – Umphrey Lee Elementary School
6. Connie Westbrook – C.A. Tatum Jr. Elementary School
7. Glenda Lenston – Birdie Alexander Elementary School
8. Vanessa Rangel – Maria Moreno STEAM Academy
9. Fabiola Reynaga – Barbara Jordan Elementary School
10. Christine Foggia – Benjamin Franklin International Exploratory Academy Middle School
11. David Jiménez-Rosado – T.G. Terry Elementary School
12. Emily Hobbs – Maria Moreno STEAM Academy
13. Mia Witt – Cesar Chavez Learning Center
14. Hydee Lopez – Central Elementary School
15. Lecharia Scales – George W. Truett Elementary School
16. John Fore – Young Women’s STEAM Academy at Balch Springs Middle School

The Dallas Education Foundation is committed to supporting educators who inspire excellence and innovation in the classroom. We invite media representatives and community members to celebrate these outstanding educators.

For more information, please contact:

• Emily Davis
• Development and Grants Manager, Dallas Education Foundation
• Email: Emily.davis@dallasisd.org

About Dallas Education Foundation

The Dallas Education Foundation (DEF) is a registered 501(c)(3) and serves as the direct and designated philanthropic partner of Dallas ISD. With a mission to inspire community investment to accelerate student success, DEF focuses on economic mobility by supporting early learning, advancing literacy, driving post-secondary success, and catalyzing our educators. To learn more, go to https://dallasedfound.org and follow us @dallasedfound on Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn, and YouTube.

About Dallas ISD

The Dallas Independent School District is continually preparing its 140,000 students for college or a career. The district offers a competitive mix of innovative programs, choice programs and instructional initiatives that support the increased academic achievement and the social and emotional development of its students. To learn more, visit www.dallasisd.org.