Dallas ISD announces Teacher of the Year finalists

Dallas ISD hosted the “Winner’s Circle” reception on March 30 at Union Station in downtown Dallas. This celebration recognized the hundreds of educators in our district and their accomplishments. 

Nine Teacher of the Year finalists were also announced at the event. These nine educators represent a wealth of background and experience from across the district.

From this group, the district-wide Elementary, Secondary, and Choice/Magnet Teachers of the Year will be announced at the 2022-23 Dallas ISD Educator of the Year Awards, in partnership with Dallas Education Foundation.

Teacher of the Year finalists:

Elementary Finalists:

Ebony Garrett, Umphrey Lee Elementary School

Ivan Medina, Marcus Leadership Academy

Mia Witt, Cesar Chavez Learning Center

Secondary Finalists:

Bobby Bailey, Billy Earl Dade Middle School

Angela Burley, Dr. Frederick Douglass Sr. Middle School

Kayleigh Overman-Fassel, Emmett J. Conrad High School

Laura Trevino, W.E. Greiner Exploratory Arts Academy


Jonatan Joshua Cruz Cardona, School for the Talented and Gifted in Pleasant Grove

Nancy Salas, Henry W. Longfellow Career Exploration Academy

Check out this gallery from this year’s ceremony: